Events

Australian Program for Drug Repurposing for Treatment Resistant Ovarian Cancer

We look forward to welcoming Professor Nikola Bowden, University of Newcastle to host this upcoming webinar with Dr Martin Slater, Director of Discovery, Cresset.

Date

Date: Thursday 2nd March, 2023

Time: 3pm CET / 2pm GMT / 9am EST

Duration: 45 minutes

Format: Webinar

Abstract 

High grade serous (HGS) ovarian cancer is the most common subtype of ovarian cancer and has a poor 5-year survival rate due to disease recurrence and resistance to current therapies. Effective new therapies are urgently required. Ongoing efforts to find new drug targets are continuing, but traditional drug development requires approximately 12-16 years processing time and investment of USD$1-2 billion to achieve market approval. This lengthy development pipeline, while necessary for identifying innovative treatments, is not the only option for providing patients with timely access to efficacious, cost-effective therapy. Drug repurposing is a method for identifying new uses for approved or investigational drugs that are outside the scope of the original intended or approved medical use. The development of repurposed drugs is attractive because therapeutic advances and new drug options for ovarian cancer patients has been far slower than expected.

The Australian program for drug repurposing for treatment resistant ovarian cancer is working with Cresset Discovery to screen Federal Drug Administration (FDA) and European Medicines Agency (EMA) approved drugs for potential interaction with well-defined 'druggable' targets specific to ovarian cancer. This is a world first large-scale program of drug repurposing for ovarian cancer. Over the 5-years of this program we aim to screen 20 drug targets/biological pathways, identified as targets for treatment-resistant HGS ovarian cancer.

Registration